LATEST NEWS: Beats 1 Announces Monterey International Pop Festival 50th Anniversary Programming | JamBandsOnline.com

LATEST NEWS: Beats 1 Announces Monterey International Pop Festival 50th Anniversary Programming

OTHERtone Airs Interview with Lou Adler & Paul Tollett – Tune in HERE Sunday at 12pm PT

“Monterey Pop on Beats 1” Special Announced To Air during 50th Anniversary Festival Weekend- June 16-18th

Iconic Performances From The Monterey International Pop Festival CD/Digital Album out JUNE 9

Los Angeles, CA – June 10, 2017 – Today, The Monterey International Pop Festival Foundation released an anniversary edition CD / Digital Album, titled Iconic Performances From The Monterey International Pop Festival to celebrate Monterey International Pop Festival’s 50th anniversary – PRESS HERE to purchase on Amazon. Iconic Performances From The Monterey International Pop Festival features previously unreleased performances by The Grateful Dead and Laura Nyro, as well as iconic performances of the festival by Jimi Hendrix, Otis Redding, Big Brother & The Holding Company featuring Janis Joplin, The Who, Jefferson Airplane, Simon & Garfunkel, Buffalo Springfield, The Electric Flag, The Mamas & The Papas, and others. The album includes a new essay by NME journalist Keith Altham, who attended the festival in 1967, in addition to a reproduction of the original festival Artist pass, 16-page booklet, and a gold-foil package to mark the 50th anniversary of the festival.

On Beats 1, Apple Music’s global radio station, Lou Adler and Paul Tollett look ahead to the 50th anniversary of the Monterey International Pop Festival with Pharrell Williams and Scott Vener on OTHERtone – tune in on Sunday, June 11 at 12pm PT/3pm ET at apple.co/beats1onair. Beats 1 is also doing a 1-hour special, titled “Monterey Pop On Beats 1” which will be airing on June 15 at 7pm PT/10pm ET, June 16 at 6am PT/9am ET, and June 17 at 9pm PT/12am ET.

Monterey International Pop Festival has been called one of the most important events in the history of Rock & Roll music. It was the first major rock festival and rock charity, a forerunner and blueprint for charity concerts such as Live Aid, Farm Aid, as well as the commercial festivals, Coachella and Outside Lands. The festival was a historic musical and cultural explosion, introducing to the world Janis Joplin, Jimi Hendrix, Otis Redding and The Who, to name a few. With its motto, “Music, Love and Flowers,” Monterey International Pop Festival drew hundreds of thousands of people to Northern California in 1967. It was a celebration of benevolence and cultural change, the key event of the Summer of Love, and presented rock music as a movement, not just in California, but globally.

Another Planet Entertainment, Goldenvoice, and The Monterey International Pop Festival Foundation will be presenting a 50th anniversary celebration festival from June 16 – 18 at the Monterey County Fairgrounds – the exact date and location it once took place 50 years ago. It will feature performances by Jack Johnson, Norah Jones, Phil Lesh & The Terrapin Family Band, Booker T. Jones, Jackie Greene, Gary Clark Jr., Father John Misty, The Head and the Heart, North Mississippi Allstars, Jim James and more. 3-Day GA and VIP Tickets are currently on sale – PRESS HERE for more information.

ABOUT MONTEREY INTERNATIONAL POP FESTIVAL FOUNDATION:
The Monterey International Pop Festival Foundation (MIPFF) is a non-profit charitable and educational foundation empowering music-related personal development, creativity, and mental and physical health. In the spirit of Monterey International Pop Festival, and on the behalf of the artists who took part, the Foundation awards grants to qualified organizations and individuals with identifiable needs in those areas.




AWSOM Powered